Clip 2 - 29 March 2017 - Law 22
Scoring a try ii.
Law 22.3 BALL GROUNDED BY AN ATTACKING PLAYER
Try. When an attacking player who is on-side is first to ground the ball in the opponents' in-goal, the player scores a try.
Law 22.1 GROUNDING THE BALL
There are two ways a player can ground the ball:
(a) Player touches the ground with the ball. A player grounds the ball by holding the ball and touching the ground with it, in in-goal. ‘Holding’ means holding in the hand or hands, or in the arm or arms. No downward pressure is required.
holding the ball.
The Jaguares attack against the Lions. Tomás Lezana races down the left touchline and passes inside. The ball eventually reaches flyhalf Nicolás Sánchez who heads for the corner as Ross Cronje tries to stop him. The two go to ground in in-goal.
The referee consults his assistant and their 'onfield decision' is a try. They consult the TMO and the TMO advises that the try should be awarded.
Is Tuculet holding the ball? His hand has turned so that it is vertical to the ground with his palm against the ball. Could he be holding the ball in this position?
Tuculet could have been holding the ball, especially if his left thumb had been under it.
There was, it seemed, no compelling reason for the TMO to change the onfield decision.