Clip 5 - 7 April 2017 - Law 10

This is when the TMO comes into his own.

Ben Smith of the Highlanders passes to Malakai Fekitoa who easily gets past Julian Savea and races for the left corner as Jordi Barrett charges across. Barrett connects with Fekitoa's lower legs but Fekitoa tumbles on as TJ Perenara and Ardie Savea try to stop his ,momentum. But the ball still gets into in-goal.

The conversation between referee and TMO is clear, calm and exact - a good example to all.

The referee talks to his assistant and they believe that Fekitoa had put a foot into touch before grounding the ball The referee conveys this to the TMO, who agrees with the referee that it should be a line-out.

They also examine Beauden Barrett's low dive into Fekitoa's legs but agree that his arms were forwards to tackle and that his action was thus not illegal.

That left them with a line-out to the Hurricanes five metres from their line.

Had Barrett's tackle been found to be illegal a penalty try would probably have been the correct decision.

Ben Smith's effort to influence the referee ("ou can't just come in like this") is not worthy of him.

outsurance.co.za advert