Clip 5 - 22 May 2017 - Law 20

Flank hooks and his side scores a try.

Instead of a penalty, the Hurricanes opt for an attacking scrum. TJ Perenara puts the ball into the scrum. It is a well contested scrum. Neither side moves forward and thew ball stays in the front row. Flank Callum Gibbins (7) of the Hurricanes stands up,. swings his left leg round his looseheads and kicks the ball back to his side. The referee is on the side of the scrum where this happens and lets play go on till Mark Abbott of thew Hurricanes scores a try.

Right?

No.

Firstly, Gibbins releases his binding.

Law 20.3 Binding in the scrum
Definitions

When a player binds on a team-mate that player must use the whole arm from hand to shoulder to grasp the team-mate’s body at or below the level of the armpit. Placing only a hand on another player is not satisfactory binding.

Law 20.3 (f) Binding by all other players. All players in a scrum, other than front-row players, must bind on a lock’s body with at least one arm prior to the scrum engagement. The locks must bind with the props in front of them. No other player other than a prop may hold an opponent.
Sanction: Penalty kick

When he stood up, Gibbins no longer used his whole arm to grasp his lock. He was liable to be penalised - and he then played the ball in this penalisable position.

The way Gibbins played the ball, was also an infringement.

Law 20.9 (f) Locks and flankers: Staying out of the tunnel. A player who is not a front row player must not play the ball in the tunnel.
Sanction: Free Kick

The referee must have had a clear view of what Gibbins did. But instead of being penalised or freekicked, the Hurricanes scored a try.

Not right.

outsurance.co.za advert