Clip 5 - 21 November 2017 - Law 22

"Downward pressure."

Wales are on the attack against Australia. The ball reaches Jonathan Davies who grubbers with his left foot towards the Australian line on his left, towards Hallam Amos's wing. Amos grabs the bouncing ball and dives as big Marika Koroibete covers. Koroibete dives at Amos whose legs swing out over the touchline and he makes contact with the cornerpost but he gets the ball down in the corner.

The referee consults his assistant who reports that Amos had not made contact with the ground in touch but he could not help with the grounding. The referee consults the TMO with the question "Try/No try".

The commentators give their views, including the statements: "All they're looking for is downward pressure" and "It just needs some downward pressure is the rule." Those statements should be dismissed as they are contrary to the laws' requirements for scoring a try.

Law 22.1 GROUNDING THE BALL
(a) Player touches the ground with the ball. A player grounds the ball by holding the ball and touching the ground with it, in in-goal. ‘Holding’ means holding in the hand or hands, or in the arm or arms. No downward pressure is required.

Amos has the ball in his hands as he dives for the line. No downward pressure is required.

What Amos must do is keep holding the ball as it touches the ground. The TMO's advice is that he was holding the ball when it touched the ground.

The try is awarded.

*There is no mention of contact with the cornerpost whose influence on the game is solely as a directional aid. Touching it does not result in a either a drop-out or a five-metre scrum, as used to be the case in the past.

outsurance.co.za advert