Clip 1 - 1 June 2018 Law 19

The Hurricanes have a scrum five metres from their own goal-line and, from their perspective to the right of their goal-post.

TJ Perenara puts the ball in and the Crusaders pack try to put the pressure on, but the Hurricanes get the ball and Perenara passes it back to flyhalf Ihaia West.

West kicks for the touchline on his right but it is a poor kick that goes out in touch-in-goal that is behind the Hurricanes goal-line.

The referee orders a scrum, opposite the place where West kicked the ball. The scrum is a correct decision.

In the new version of the laws, this falls under:

Law 19:
The ball is taken into in-goal by the defending team and made dead.
The place of the scrum: In the scrum zone at the point closest to where the ball was made dead.
The team to put the ball into the scrum: The attacking team.

Perenara passed the ball into in-goal. The defending team (Hurricanes) took the ball into in-goal.
West, a defender, kicked the ball dead.
The attacking team (Crusaders) are to put the ball into the scrum.

Where would the scrum be?

In the scrum zone at a point closest to where the ball was made dead. The ball was made dead where it crossed touch-in-goal.

The scrum zone in such a case is five metres from the Hurricanes goal-line and five metres in from touch.

The place where West kicked the ball is not relevant.
        

outsurance.co.za advert