Clip 4 – 25 June 2018 - Law 20

France have the ball against New Zealand. Morgan Parra, the French scrumhalf, passes to big Yoann Maestri on his left. As Maestri tries to charge ahead, he is closely supported by Dany Priso.

Almost immediately two New Zealanders, Sam Whitelock and Joe Moody, grab Maestri. Maestri, Priso, Whitelock and Moody are all on their feet. The referee calls "Maul", as France's Mathieu Babillot (6) joins in. The maul collapses. The ball does not emerge.

The referee stops proceedings and awards a scrum to New Zealand.

Correct?

Law 16.1 - A maul ends unsuccessfully when:

  • The ball becomes unplayable.
  • The maul collapses (not as a result of foul play).
  • The maul does not move towards a goal line for longer than five seconds and the ball does not emerge.
  • The ball-carrier goes to ground and the ball is not immediately available.
  • The ball is available to be played, the referee has called “use it” and it has not been played within five seconds of the call.

Sanction: Scrum

Law 20 - A maul that ends unsuccessfully

  • The team not in possession at the start of the maul.
  • If the referee cannot decide which team had possession, the team moving forward before the maul stopped.
  • If neither team was moving forward, the attacking team.
  1. France had possession of the ball at the start of the maul.
  2. The maul collapsed.
  3. The scrum goes to New Zealand.

The referee was correct.              

outsurance.co.za advert