Clip 3 - 23 July 2018 - Law 11

The Sharks have the ball and are going left where their attack is strong. As Wilco Louw of the Stormers tackles him, André Esterhuizen passes to Lusanda Amm who is confronted by Dillyn Leyds.

Amm immediately tries to flick the ball on, using his right hand to send a lofted pass behind his back to Kobus Louw who passes to Lwazi Mvovo who forces his way over the line.

The referee consults his assistant referee on that side and then the TMO, telling him that his on-field decision was a try - because the grounding was correct - but that he was unsure of Amm's pass which may have been forward but was not clearly so.

There are replays and the TMO comes to the conclusion that the pass was forward as it left Amm's hand.

The result was a scrum.

The decision and the process of reaching it were correct, though the TMO was more prescriptive than the protocol would have it as it is the referee who still must make the decision.

outsurance.co.za advert