Clip 6 – 10 September 2018 - Law 20
The Sharks' scrumhalf, Louis Schreuder, is about to throw the ball into a scrum but before he can the referee freekicks the Cheetahs.
Where he is standing at the side of the scrum, Schreuder taps and is off. The referee blows the whistle and calls him back telling him he must take the tap kick from behind the scrum, not at the side.
Law 20.2: A penalty or free-kick is taken from where it is awarded or anywhere behind it on a line through the mark and parallel to the touchlines. When a penalty or free-kick is taken at the wrong place, it must be re-taken.
In this case, the free kick was for an infringement in the scrum, but the scrum's formation was still there. That meant that the referee could not mark the place and Schreuder could not kick it from the place.
But Schreuder could take it behind the mark, that is behind the scrum formation. He took it from the wrong place, which was to his undeserved advantage.
Then why a scrum to the Sharks after the referee stopped play?
When a penalty or free-kick is taken at the wrong place, it must be re-taken.
In other words, it has not been taken properly, in fact, has not been taken.
Law 20 OPTIONS AT A PENALTY OR FREE KICK
- 3. A team awarded a penalty or free-kick may instead choose a scrum.
The Sharks chose the scrum.